The Gibson-Grant Log House will open to the public on Saturday, Dec. 11, after a multi-year design and renovation process. The Gibson-Grant Log House, constructed in 1860-1861, is one of the few remaining log structures of the mid-nineteenth century still standing on its original site in Denton County.
The Town of Flower Mound will host a ribbon cutting on Dec. 11 at 10 a.m. at the house, 3615 Grant Court. Tour guides will be on site until 2 p.m. to provide guests with information about the structure. After Dec. 11, the Gibson-Grant Log House will be open to the public, free of charge, on Fridays from 1-5 p.m. and Saturdays from 10 a.m.-2 p.m. The house will be closed on Town holidays. This schedule is subject to change in 2022. Volunteer tour guides, organized through the Denton County Office of History and Culture, will be at the log house whenever it is open to welcome guests and provide information about the structure and the evolution of early homesteads on the Texas frontier.
In 2015, the Town of Flower Mound acquired the property, which was named in recognition of its original owner, William Gibson, and of Curtis Grant, the developer who discovered the structure. Grant had originally purchased the property with the intent of demolishing the existing house and subdividing the lot for residential development. However, he discovered the historic log house inside the living room walls. Newer construction had been built around it in stages. He contacted the Denton County Office of History and Culture to report his findings, and upon further investigation by both that Office and the University of Arkansas Tree-Ring Laboratory, it was determined that the house was likely built by settlers who came to Texas as part of the Peters Colony, the earliest settlement in Denton County. The Tree-Ring Laboratory took core samples of the logs and remaining chinking and determined that the logs had been cut between 1857 and 1860. They had been stockpiled awaiting construction, which occurred between 1860-1861.
The Town began restoration work on the log house in 2020. The structure has been restored to its Phase 3 period, or Triple-Pen form with back extension, which retains the early historic changes to the original Single-Pen house. Restoration work included removing concrete and gravel driveways, regrading the site to improve drainage, constructing an independent restroom facility, removing non-historic board and batten siding and plywood, removing non-historic wood front porch and concrete utility room stairs, reinforcing and installing a wood shingle roof, infilling historic walls, exposing a portion of the log walls to showcase earliest construction, and finishing spaces with period-appropriate finishes and artifacts. Moving forward, the Town of Flower Mound will maintain the Gibson-Grant Log House and its grounds, while Denton County will furnish the interior of the house and will assist with volunteer recruitment, training, and staffing for scheduled tours, special events, and days when the historic house is open to the public.
The Gibson-Grant Log House provides all of us with the unique opportunity to travel back in time, experience life on the Texas frontier, and get a glimpse into how some of Denton County’s earliest settlers lived. The Town is excited to welcome the public to the Dec. 11 ribbon cutting and looks forward to seeing community members have the opportunity to visit, explore, and learn something new. For more information on the Gibson-Grant Log House, visit www.flower-mound.com/gibsongrant.