Detention Services Officer Requirements

To become a Detention Services Officer, you must:

  • Be at least 18 years of age at the time of application
  • Possess a high school diploma or GED
  • Have a valid state issued driver’s license (must obtain a Texas driver’s license within 30 days of establishing residency if hired from out of state) 
  • Have no convictions involving family violence
  • Have no convictions of a Class A misdemeanor or above under the Texas Penal Code or any comparable state or federal law, to include the Uniform Code of Military Justice
  • Have no convictions of a Class B misdemeanor under the Texas Penal Code or any comparable state or federal law, to include the Uniform Code of Military Justice
  • Have no convictions of a Class C misdemeanor or comparable law within the last five years (excluding traffic violations)
  • Have no criminal charges pending nor be under indictment for any criminal offense
  • No more than three chargeable accidents within the last three years, or any combination of chargeable accidents and moving violations which equal four or more in the last three years
  • Not be on probation for any criminal offense
  • No excessive marijuana use and no marijuana use in the past two years
  • No illegal drug use within the last five years. Other drug use will be considered on a case by case basis.