Adults

Adult Programs 

Let's Talk College
Do you know what it really takes to get into college? On Tuesday, September 14 and Tuesday, October 5 at 7 p.m., Erika Dietz of Guru Academic Advising will discuss college planning at the Library. This presentation will go beyond the basics and teach students and families what they can do to make their college applications stand out from the pack. Students and parents will leave with information that will empower them to tackle the process of getting into college with less stress and better results. Participants need only attend one session. To register, please email the Library or call 972.874.6165.

Let's Talk College Flyer



Create Your Own Painted Glass Candleholder
Join us on Monday, September 20 at 7 p.m. as craft teacher Sharon Oels Martyn and Library staff demonstrate how to make a painted glass candleholder using glassware, acrylic paint, and embellishments. This in-person class is for ages 14 and older, and registration is required. To register, please email the Library or call 972.874.6165.

Painted Glass Candleholder Flyer



Cuisines Around the World: Chicken Tikka Masala
Hungry for knowledge and great food? On Monday, Sept. 27 at 7 p.m., Library staff member Supriya Srinivasa will discuss the cultural and historical significance of one of the world’s most popular dishes, chicken tikka masala. Learn how to prepare the traditional Indian dish and
enjoy samples. This program is for ages 14 and older. Registration is required, and attendance is limited. To register, email the Library or
call 972.874.6165. 

Cuisines Around the World Flyer



Starting the Conversation: Talking to Teens about Mental Health
Part of the Mental Health Series
On Wednesday, September 29 at 7 p.m., Anne Lehew with LISD Counseling and Social Work Services will lead this Q&A-focused session for parents on how to recognize signs of a mental health condition in teenage children and how to establish an open dialog about mental health. Attendance is limited, and registration is required. To register, please call 972.874.6165 or email the Library.

Starting the Conversation Flyer



Navigating Anxiety and Depression
Part of the Mental Health Series
In this presentation for adults and teens on Saturday, October 2 at 2 p.m., Richard-Michael Calzada, LPC with Connections Wellness Group, will discuss issues related to anxiety and depression and how to cope with symptoms. Attendance is limited, and registration is required. To register, please call 972.874.6165 or email the Library.

Navigating Anxiety and Depression Flyer



Leave It, Move It, Roll It, Take It: Know Your Employer Retirement Plan Options
Part of the Financial Planning Series
Planning for retirement? On Tuesday, October 19 at 7 p.m., learn how to handle your 401(k), pension, or other employer-sponsored retirement plan in this workshop, presented by Frank Rattan, CRPC®, Financial Advisor for Edward Jones. Registration is required and attendance is limited. To register, please email the Library or call 972.874.6165.

Know Your Employer Retirement Plan Options 2021 Flyer



2021-2022 Book Club Discussion Group

The Flower Mound Public Library welcomes you to join our book club discussion group for lively talk about the book of the month. Monday evening meetings will be held in person and Thursday morning meetings will be held via Zoom until further notice. For more information, email Lynne Craddock or call 972.874.6165.

Printable 2021-2022 Book List Brochure
 
Anxious People by Fredrik Backman
  • Monday, August 9 at 7 p.m. (In Person)
  • Thursday, August 12 at 9:30 a.m. (via Zoom)
 
The Storyteller's Secret by Sejal Badani  -  MEETINGS POSTPONED
  • Monday, September 13 at 7 p.m. (In Person, Author Zoom Visit)
  • Thursday, September 16 at 9:30 a.m. (via Zoom)
 
Caste by Isabel Wilkerson
  • Monday, October 11 at 7 p.m. (In Person)
  • Thursday, October 14 at 9:30 a.m. (via Zoom)

The Midnight Library by Matt Haig
  • Monday, November 8 at 7 p.m. (In Person)
  • Thursday, November 11 at 9:30 a.m. (via Zoom)

The Vanishing Half by Brit Bennett
  • Monday, December 13 at 7 p.m. (In Person)
  • Thursday, December 16 at 9:30 a.m. (via Zoom)
Finding Chika by Mitch Albom
  • Monday, January 10 at 7 p.m. (In Person)
  • Thursday, January 13 at 9:30 a.m. (via Zoom)

The Four Winds
by Kristin Hannah
  • Monday, February 14 at 7 p.m. (In Person)
  • Thursday, February 17 at 9:30 a.m. (via Zoom)

Silent Spring
by Rachel Carson
  • Monday, March 14 at 7 p.m. (In Person)
  • Thursday, March 17 at 9:30 a.m. (via Zoom)
 
The Prayer Box by Lisa Wingate
  • Monday, April 11 at 7 p.m. (In Person)
  • Thursday, April 14 at 9:30 a.m. (via Zoom)
 
Greenlights by Matthew McConaughey
  • Monday, May 9 at 7 p.m. (In Person)
  • Thursday, May 12 at 9:30 a.m. (via Zoom)


Gaming Unplugged

 
Join fellow gamers for an afternoon of chess, table-top games, and role-playing games on the second Sunday of the month from 1:30-4:30 p.m. Games will be provided, or you may bring your own. All ages welcome.

2020 dates: All 2020 dates have been canceled. This program is tentatively scheduled to resume in 2021.