Gibson-Grant Historic Log House
Grand Opening: Saturday, Dec. 11, 2021
The Gibson-Grant Log House will open to the public on Saturday, Dec. 11, after a multi-year design and renovation process. The Gibson-Grant Log House, constructed in 1860-1861, is one of the few remaining log structures of the mid-nineteenth century still standing on its original site in Denton County.
The Town of Flower Mound will host a ribbon cutting on Dec. 11 at 10 a.m. at the house, 3615 Grant Court. Tour guides will be on site until 2 p.m. to provide guests with information about the structure.
*Please note: Onsite parking is limited on Dec. 11. Overflow parking will be available at Liberty Elementary School, located across the street.
After the Dec. 11 ribbon cutting, the Gibson-Grant Log House will be open to the public, free of charge, on:
- Fridays from 1-5 p.m.
- Saturdays from 10 a.m.-2 p.m.
Please note: The house will be closed on Town holidays. This schedule is subject to change in 2022.
Volunteer tour guides, organized through the Denton County Office of History and Culture, will be at the log house whenever it is open to welcome guests and provide information about the structure and the evolution of early homesteads on the Texas frontier.
In 2015, the Town of Flower Mound acquired the property, which was named in recognition of its original owner, William Gibson, and of Curtis Grant, the developer who discovered the structure. Grant had originally purchased the property with the intent of demolishing the existing house and subdividing the lot for residential development. However, he discovered the historic log house inside the living room walls. Newer construction had been built around it in stages. He contacted the Denton County Office of History and Culture to report his findings, and upon further investigation by both that Office and the University of Arkansas Tree-Ring Laboratory, it was determined that the house was likely built by settlers who came to Texas as part of the Peters Colony, the earliest settlement in Denton County. The Tree-Ring Laboratory took core samples of the logs and remaining chinking and determined that the logs had been cut between 1857 and 1860. They had been stockpiled awaiting construction, which occurred between 1860-1861.
In 2018, the Town of Flower Mound approved a Master Plan for the Gibson-Grant Log House, to guide the restoration of the historic house. The plan also includes preservation objectives, treatment standards, and recommendations.
The Town began restoration work on the log house in 2020. The structure has been restored to its Phase 3 period, or Triple-Pen form with back extension, which retains the early historic changes to the original Single-Pen house. Restoration work included removing concrete and gravel driveways, regrading the site to improve drainage, constructing an independent restroom facility, removing non-historic board and batten siding and plywood, removing non-historic wood front porch and concrete utility room stairs, reinforcing and installing a wood shingle roof, infilling historic walls, exposing a portion of the log walls to showcase earliest construction, and finishing spaces with period-appropriate finishes and artifacts. Moving forward, the Town of Flower Mound will maintain the Gibson-Grant Log House and its grounds, while Denton County will furnish the interior of the house and will assist with volunteer recruitment, training, and staffing for scheduled tours, special events, and days when the historic house is open to the public.
The Gibson-Grant Log House provides all of us with the unique opportunity to travel back in time, experience life on the Texas frontier, and get a glimpse into how some of Denton County’s earliest settlers lived. The Town is excited to welcome the public to the Dec. 11 ribbon cutting and looks forward to seeing community members have the opportunity to visit, explore, and learn something new.
What Does It Look Like?
The Log House has been restored to its Phase 3 period, or Triple-Pen form with back extension, which retains the early historic changes to the original Single-Pen house. This also preserves a large portion of the original siding and paint layers. The benefit to choosing the Phase 3 period is that it displays the evolution of early Texas houses on the frontier, while leaving room on the property for outdoor activities and events.
|Exterior Changes||Interior Changes|
The Town extends its gratitude to the Curtis Grant Family, the Wendell Elms Family, and the Ray Robbins Family for the gifting of the Gibson-Grant Log House. We would also like to extend our gratitude to the State of Texas, Senator Jane Nelson, Denton County, Former Council, and Town Staff involved in the conception, funding, design, and construction of the Log House.
Want to Help?
If you’d like to support the Gibson-Grant Log House restoration project, please send a check made out to the Town of Flower Mound with "Gibson-Grant Log House Project" in the note section to 2121 Cross Timbers Rd., Flower Mound, TX 75028.